French Onion Soup

french onion soup julia child

I absolutely love french onion soup. It’s my go-to on rainy, sub-par days. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve slumped into Panera under a mountain of work or after a bad week and speed-ordered french onion soup in a bread bowl. It’s the ultimate comfort food.

french onion soup julia child

When looking for recipes to make myself and Lucas last summer, I found Smitten Kitchen’s delicious streamlined adaptation of Julia Child’s french onion soup recipe. I’ve made it 5 or 6 times since then, and (at least according to Lucas), it’s only gotten better. I’ve learned the importance of caramelizing the onions for a long time, adding a considerable amount of salt, and adding the optional tablespoons of cognac it calls for. I also nearly doubled the amount of onions called for in the recipe, because, let’s be real, who doesn’t want more caramelized onions? No one.

french onion soup julia child

Most recently I made it for my family for dinner. We complemented it with escargot (a family favorite – if you haven’t tried it soaked in wells of butter, trust me, you need to), cheese, and salad for a decidedly French experience.

french onion soup julia child

Cheers,

Ginny

Leave a Reply

