Experimenting with Pixlr Express

I don’t have Photoshop on my personal computer, only my family’s home computer, so while I’m at school, I usually have to use online photo editing services like Pixlr. For these past few photos I experimented with their Express program, which provides pre-made filters, borders, overlays, etc for your pictures, and involves a lot less time than editing each element by hand. While I ended up wishing that most of the filters were more subtle, I do like how quick and easy it is to get a stylized photo. Most of my photos this week were taken at night and inside. Next week I want to make a more conscious effort to take photos in the daylight and outside, which has been difficult so far because it gets dark so early and it’s so cold.
365-5
Part of Lucas’ bowtie collection. He’s up to fifteen in a year since I bought him his first two last December. Oops.

365-6
My skirts – I like to hang up all of my clothes (or at least as many as I can), in order both to see them better and to pick outfits out better.

365-7
Our eating club hosted a senior networking dinner at the Princeton Club of New York on Tuesday. I managed to snap this blurry photo of the sunset from the bus window.

365-8
Lucas playing pool in the Rec Room!
On Lucas: shirt/Brooks Brothers, pants/J Crew

365-10
This last photo is a bit more playful – its a photo of the paper mache rhino head that hangs over my bed. In case you can’t tell, Lucas and I both like fake taxidermy a little too much. I cut the background of the rhino out from two pieces of paper bought at Paper Source, although, if I ever wanted a more permanent frame, I saw that Michael’s has some cute and ornate wooden frames. I used a “vintage” filter from Pixlr on it and then added a bunch of bokeh hearts. It’s a little bit absurd, but I like the way it feels like I’m in a music video with a disco ball covered in glass hearts. Maybe I should make one of those…

Best,

Ginny

Leave a Reply

